top of page
  • lac4art

Growth, March 2024



Last month I reached the ripe age of 75.  Notice I did not use the word ‘old’.  My body is aging but my mind seems to think I am still 25.  Sometimes I am reminded that I am not 25 anymore.  When I was young I could stay up all night and go to work the next day, tired, but able to function.  Now, if I am up past 11 pm I need to sleep in the next morning to make up for not going to bed at 10 pm.  Stamina is sometimes difficult to find, and routine tasks have become a bit more of a chore.  My body is aging but my mind is definitely still moving at full throttle. 

Recently, I received a phone call asking if I would be interested in acting as a guest host on a cable TV program that involved interesting items and antiques.  It sounded like a fun thing to try so I had a virtual interview and was accepted to work for a few days helping to host the program.  This is where my mind and body clashed.  After two sessions of standing on my feet for two hours each session, I was exhausted.  A nap was in order when I got home.  My mind was all in and rising to the challenge of researching, learning, and memorizing facts to be shared before the camera.  Quickly I learned to make sure I got my rest so I could do the job I had committed to.  The people I met were amazing and the crew treated me like gold.   Taking on this challenge taught me a few things. 

You are never too old to learn something new and take up the challenge of doing something you have never done before.  The rewards can be great.  Opportunities for growth are all around us if we are open to them.  Each spring the bulbs buried deep in the ground reach up to the sun.  When the conditions are right the tulips put on a magnificent show of colour and resilience having survived another winter underground.  Let your colours show and reach for new things to do and learn.  Grow in spite of your limitations.

 

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page