top of page
  • lac4art

Stars, April 2024



We have all stood outside on a clear night and gazed up, taking in the wonders of the night sky.  Stars glittering in familiar constellations.  If you have been really fortunate you may have even seen the passing beauty of a meteor shower or the Northern Lights.  Stars are the one constant we can count on not changing.  We may get fooled for a moment by a passing satellite or the flashing light of an airplane, but not for long. We know we can rely on the stars to always be there to brighten our sky and sometimes to point the way if we need direction.

 

We all have people in our lives who are like the stars.  They are always there adding light to our world.  They can be counted on to point us in the right direction.  They are a steady force that makes us feel safe and cared for.  Our world is brighter because they are in it. 

 

Occasionally we may be distracted by someone posing as a star.  Bright and shiny, holding promise, but in the end just a passing satellite on their way to their next destination.  Stars never really go away.  They may be hidden by the clouds now and then but they are still there ready to share their wisdom and hold your hand if you need it. 

 

My art attached to this piece is a detail of a larger piece.  When I was quilting this piece, I stitched the sunflowers first and was at a loss about what to do with the background. After applying corn syrup to stop the paint from spreading, white fuzzy dots, appeared as the wet paint dried. They reminded me of stars, so my problem was solved. I stitched a star around each corn syrup dot.  After much thought, I realized that stars, for me, represent the people who have been significant in my life.  They are the amazing people who have guided me along the way, pointed out my strengths, and helped me through the tough times. 

 

Reading this may make you realize you yourself are a star to your friends, family, and acquaintances.  Thank you for lighting up our lives.  You are special.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page