top of page
  • lac4art

Preparation, August 2024


sketch of flowers that will be used in an art piece at a later date

We are all faced with times when we must plan and prepare to achieve a goal we set for ourselves.  Whether buying groceries, baking a cake, or going on a trip, it all takes preparation.  More complex goals require more time to prepare.

I really enjoy traveling. Choosing a destination can be connected to visiting family, seeing new places, or escaping the winter cold.  Whatever the purpose there are many steps to achieving the goal. Booking flights, accommodations and often renting a car are on the list.  Seeking out museums, art galleries (for me), or other things that might entertain you can be easily researched these days with the internet. 

When it comes to packing, I start with my basic travel list that I keep on my computer.  Printing out the list is essential to me because I like to see it on my table as a reminder that I can add to it at any time.  My packing list is comprehensive and gets checked off as I pack my suitcase. Important things sometimes get a star beside them and when the list is almost checked off I circle the things remaining so I don’t miss anything. 

Preparing to create a piece of art also takes preparation.  Inspiration leads to goals.  Making a list of possibilities is a great place to start.  My recent trip to Iceland inspired a list of possible art pieces related to the wonderful things that I experienced.  Going through the hundreds of photos taken will take time to select the ones I will use for reference.  Since I work in a number of different media, deciding which materials and the techniques I will use to execute the work may be decided ahead of time or it may change and develop as the plan develops.

After my lists and gathering of reference photos, the next step is to make a sketch, or sometimes several sketches before I decide on a composition.  Gathering my materials may be as simple as going through my stash of fabrics or as complicated as printing or painting fabrics that I will need.  Sometimes, the piece evolves and changes as I create it.  There are also times when I am not sure how to finish a piece and I put it aside until inspiration hits.  Putting something away and looking at it with fresh eyes can bring a whole new approach to how I want to complete a piece. 

The sketch I have included with this blog is an actual-sized sketch that I used to create a piece on fabric with Inktense pencils.  Life often presents us with new opportunities.  Taking advantage of those opportunities takes planning and preparation.  My many lists help me prepare for whatever adventure or creation lies ahead. 

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page